Australia declares its airspace "No Fly Zone" for the Boeing 737 MAX

Sydney - After Ethiopia, China, Cayman Islands, Indonesia and Singapore; Australia has also issued a provisional flight ban for the Boeing 737 MAX 8, although no Australian airline operates the aircraft. A few foreign airlines use this type on flights to the country.

According to the Australian Civil Aviation Safety Authority (CASA), the flight ban concerns Singapore's SilkAir and Fiji Airways.

Singapore has already announced that it wouldn't allow the Boeing 737 MAXs to fly, so the decision of the Australian authority affects Fiji Airways only, which has two Boeing 737 MAX in the fleet. The airline will have to fly to Australia with other aircraft types for the time being.

According to CASA's head Shane Carmody, the decision to suspend flights to and from Australia with the 737 MAXs is temporary and was taken for safety reasons. After obtaining more data about the safety risks of Boeing 737 MAX 8, the flights will be resumed.

A total of 346 people died in two Boeing 737 MAX 8 crashes since last year.

On March 12, The U.S. Federal Aviation Administration said that the Boeing 737 MAX 8 can continue to fly. The aircraft is airworthy according to the U.S. aviation authority. The same day, Boeing released a software update for the 737 MAX 8 based on the investigation of the Lion Air flight 610 crash.